Joomla! Newyork

A blogger inspired and birthed from the Joomla! community

To Insert A Table of Contents

I don’t want to go into how messed up Word 2007 is. I don’t want to go into how unimpressed I am. I don’t want to go into how many years of learning its features and they became part of your psyche and suddenly when you opened word 2007 everything becomes different. Now you are forced  to relearn it again with a price of $200+. Oh, crap!

What a waste!

Who am I to say that?
I am just a regular user who happens to witness the divide in technology. I saw what I saw and I see what I see.

Hey! I still see a computer lab with Windows NT 4 workstations running and students learning Word 97.

Where is Linux in this picture?

Where is OpenOffice.org?

No. I will not tackle on the operating system because in the divide, operating system means nothing.

In the divide, most heard about computers, ipods, cell phones, telephones, microwave ovens, digital televisions, cable and one and only application for word processing called Microsoft Word.

The creativity of these Microsoft programmers creating such new Word 2007 amazing looking is laudable. Yeeeh! But just infuriated me so here is my rant!

“Calling the attention of students learning MS Word 97, MS Word 2000, MS Word 2002, MS Word 2003.”

Go and get yourself an OpenOffice.Org Suite at www.openoffice.org.

Since you ask me how to insert a table of contents using word 2007, I paid my dues to the Microsoft Flag so I could answer your question…here it is,

  1. Click the page where you want the table of contents to appear
  2. Click References tab.
  3. Click the Table of Contents button

Choices: I suggest you play around with the following:

Add. Click a Table of Contents style from the gallery.

Remove. Click Remove Table of Contents

Customize. Click the Insert Table of Contents, click the Table of Contents tab, select the format levels, and options you want, and then click OK.

Enjoy!

Filed under: MS® Office

2 Responses

  1. Thomas says:

    Believe it or not, your post helped me insert a table of contents in Open Office 3. Thats precious!
    Cheers mate

  2. Zombia says:

    Your post havn’t did anything !!

Leave a comment