Joomla! Newyork

A blogger inspired and birthed from the Joomla! community

My WordPress 2.1.1 Installation

Once upon a time I was running my own WordPress website for educational puposes. This experience was written on February 23, 2007:

Every time I did something interesting, I always document it so I would not forget. In this case, I should document my WordPress installation experience. Here it is…

1. Downloaded WordPress 2.1.1 (latest stable version as of February 23, 2007) at www.wordpress.org

2. Unzipped the package in an empty directory.

3. Inside WordPress folder, I opened up wp-config-sample.php in WordPad.
wp-config-sample.php file
Opening the wp-config-sample.php gives me some lines of code. But the only parameters that I was concerned about was the first four lines.

define(‘DB_NAME’, ‘wordpress’); // The database name
define(‘DB_USER’, ‘username’); // The MySQL username
define(‘DB_PASSWORD’, ‘password’); // The password
define(‘DB_HOST’, ‘localhost’); // I changed this value

  • The Database’s name
  • My MySQL username
  • The MySQL password
  • Host Name

Where did I get to replace those information?
4.I Created Database (MySQL)
At my webhost server, I had the option to create a database that automatically came with username, password and hostname which I used to replace the default’s information in the wp-config-sample.php.

5. Replaced with my new acquired information
My new wp-config-sample.php would now be, (the bolded characters represent the change).

define(‘DB_NAME’, ‘myworpress’); // My database name
define(‘DB_USER’, ‘myusername’); // My MySQL username
define(‘DB_PASSWORD’, ‘mypassword’); // MySQL password
define(‘DB_HOST’, ‘mylocalhost’); // Changed the hostname-not one of the 99%.

6. Saving The wp-config-sample.php
Once the changed was made, I saved the file as wp-config.php.

7. Uploaded the WordPress installation folder to my webserver using FTP.

8. Type the URL location of the WordPress installation folder.
Within few clicks, WordPress was installed and is now up and running!

9. Done!

Simple?
Tell me about it!

Filed under: WordPress

3 Responses

  1. ultimoAdios says:

    Note: This entry was imported from my WordPress 2.1.1 website.

  2. Amy Stephen says:

    I remember when I started using WP, too. It is easy and fun. It reminds me of driving in a VW. Tiny, easy to handle, agile.

  3. ultimoAdios says:

    The comparison is just right…zoom!. I agree 100%. In fact what you described–ease, fast, and most of all the experience of just having fun blogging, socializing, commenting, reading is what WordPress is all about. So deserving with their win. I wonder… there was not so much fuzz about their award as Best 2007 Social Networking. I didn’t see one up to this time. With Joomla! hahaha! you don’t have to look it is like everywhere.

Leave a Reply

