Joomla! Newyork

A blogger inspired and birthed from the Joomla! community

Last Glimpse

Before I will reinstall another update for the Joomla! 1.5 Beta 2 Nightly Build, this time I have to copy and paste the article I wrote from that installation. I might not be able to write this again. Here it is…

Saturday, 12 May 2007 03:16

Welcome to my Joomla! 1.5 Beta 2 test website. As a reminder, “Joomla! Beta 2 is not recommended for production or for live site.” Why am I using it? Am I special? No, I am not. I used this beta version in a live environment to see how it works. Beside, I am already kind of tired working Joomla! 1.5 Beta1 in my local computer. I already had enough of it. So when Beta 2 was released I decided, it is time to see how it works live! If for some reasons something would happen in this website for ignoring the warning, I am ready to face the consequence whatever that might be.

When Joomla! Beta 1 came out on September 12, 2006, (you can read it here), I had no desire to install it in the remote web server. But when the Beta 2 came out May 4, 2007, I never had any second thought not to try it out live. Just few minutes after I downloaded Joomla 1.5 beta 2 files, the installation process began and now Joomla! is running flawlessly. This is a great opportunity to test Beta 2 live and through this experience, I am getting ready for its final release. Just like every software application Joomla! 1.5 beta2 has been given by the code name Red Barchetta.

“Red Barchetta.”

Yes, Red Barchetta that is! The code name as explained, I quote from joomla.org article,

” A catchy code name for Beta-2 with a hint of metaphor about open source. The “Red Barchetta” is a futuristic song about a wise uncle who keeps a Red Barchetta in his barn long after automobiles are outlawed (Before the Motor Law). A kid takes the car for a ride and ends up being chased by a Gleaming Alloy Air car. He outruns and ditches the law and returns to the barn, hides the car and goes off to dream about freedom with his uncle by the fireside. The Red Barchetta symbolises the spirit of freedom and freewill. Stories like this manifest in true open source spirit. But what has it to do with Joomla? Quite simply, we are one one step closer to celebrating the new levels of freedom, by offering the second beta of Joomla!

Lastly, I should say…“Let me drive Red Barchetta freely, without inhibitions and in the Spirit of Open Source.”

Let the journey begins!

You can read the complete article about Joomla version 1.5 beta 2 at http://www.joomla.org/content/view/3287/1/.

Filed under: Joomla!

Leave a Reply

